He touched me…

I will spare you my George Beverly Shea impersonation… but, if you grew up anywhere near the Christian Faith in the last 30 years… You know this old hymn…

“He touched me, O he touched me,
And O the joy that floods my soul!
Something happened, and now I know,
He touched me and made me whole.”

Mark 1:40-42

“A man with leprosy came to him and begged him on his knees, “If you are willing, you can make me clean.” Filled with compassion, Jesus reached out his hand and touched the man. “I am willing, ” he said. “Be clean!” Immediately the leprosy left him and he was cured.”

What is truly amazing about this old hymn is found in this story in Scripture. Leprosy was no joke. There really is nothing in our culture currently that I have seen that really equates. Other than in sci-fi movies dealing with people being quarantined because of being exposed to chemical warfare.

The most amazing thing happens in this story when Jesus reaches out and touches the leper. The miracle is in what we cannot define and so we simply say… “something happened”… There is something that is so special about touch.

I feel like I have heard that people need a certain amount of “touches” a day… I want to say seven, but I don’t have a reference, so don’t hold me to that… There is also some story in my diluted memory from college of an experiment with monkeys where they deprive them of touch from birth and the monkeys don’t even make it a week…

How many times have you been in a spot in life where all you really needed was someone to put their arm around you… they don’t have to say, “it’s okay”…. they just need to touch you… There is something important about touch. And what is amazing about the touch of Jesus is the “something happened.”

So again, I encourage you to give what you need… and in the appropriate circumstances of life… reach out and touch someone… let them know that you care…

One thought on “He touched me…

  1. Sheri says:

    The significance of a touch. People didn’t touch a man with leprosy. It just wasn’t done. So for Jesus to touch him, was a huge significance. And for Jesus to touch me. Me, a sinner (saved by grace) is miraculous. Without His touch, I couldn’t be made whole. But he did, and I am. I just can’t get over the fact that He chose me!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

