Barry Bonds… (no controversy)

So, I was out having dinner by myself the other night. I was waiting on some friends who were at a birthday party. I was watching baseball on tv. I am not a fan of baseball. I don’t dislike it, it just isn’t my thing. Lately, I have been watching more of it, just because I know that sooner than later, they will start talking about important things like college football, pro football, and then of course, the only thing that matters….. HOCKEY!!!!

They kept breaking in with live updates when Barry Bonds would come up to bat. He is chasing the home run record. There is all of this controversy surrounding it, and I couldn’t really care less about that. I am pretty much over hearing about it.

I was watching him as he approached the plate… He at one at bat looked at the umpire and made some joke and smiled, and I thought to myself… I could not possibly handle that kind of pressure.

I deal with stuff all week long that is not even close to being as much pressure as what he must be under and I get all stressed out. I just can’t imagine how you live in the moment, clear your head and try to make contact with a white ball, let alone hit it out of the park.

So, despite all the controversy and all of the hype of history being made… I want to say, I respect Barry Bonds’ determination and ability to handle the stress. I admire that aspect of who he is…

Just a thought…

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment